Corporate Equity

Selection of projects

Our project selection process is fairly simple and traditional.

The first stage is a face-to-face meeting between us and the project team. During this meeting, we seek to grasp the vision, potential and scope of the project. It is an opportunity for an initial discussion with the team, during which they can outline their support and funding needs. Sometimes, we may ask teams to meet with us again so that we can be sure we have fully understood the project and what it involves.

During the second stage, the team will present their project to an Afone Participations committee. The presentation should be short (15 minutes) and will be followed by questions about the technical, HR, financial, and sales and marketing aspects of the project. Once again, we may organise additional meetings to cover specific topics in more depth.

Third comes the decision-making stage, consisting of an opinion from the Afone Participations investment committee followed by a final decision by the Afone Participations Board of Directors.

The whole process generally takes place within a fairly short timescale – around three months, if the team involved is responsive and the project is sufficiently mature. Of course, there is a selection element to each of the stages.

Corporate Equity

Sélection des projets

Le processus de sélection des projets est assez simple et classique.

La première étape consiste en un rendez-vous physique avec les porteurs du projet. L’objectif est de comprendre la vision, les perspectives et le cadre du projet. C’est l’occasion d’un premier échange avec l’équipe, qui fera part de ses besoins estimés en matière de soutien et de financement. Parfois, quelques autres rencontres sont nécessaires pour assurer une bonne compréhension du projet et de ses enjeux.

La deuxième étape consiste en une présentation du projet devant un comité interne. La présentation doit être courte (15 minutes) et sera suivie de questions sur les aspects techniques, RH, financiers et commerciaux. Là encore, quelques entretiens sur des sujets spécifiques peuvent compléter cette présentation.

La troisième étape est celle de la décision qui se décompose en deux parties : un avis du comité d’investissement d’Afone Participations puis une décision prise par le conseil d’administration d’Afone Participations.

L’ensemble de ce processus peut se dérouler sur des périodes relativement courtes, typiquement un trimestre lorsque les équipes sont réactives et que le projet a atteint un stade de maturité suffisant. Bien sûr, chacune de ces phases donne lieu à une sélection…